Julian Semiao

Julian Semiao is a painter born in Lyon in 1996. Graduated with a license in visual arts from the University of Saint-Etienne then a Masters in contemporary painting at the Parisian University Panthéon Sorbonne, he currently resides in Paris where he works and exhibits regularly.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Always animated by art, he quickly lets himself be caught by the color and artistic ardor of Picasso, Basquiat, Combas, Keith Haring, Grayson Perry and even Jean Dubuffet. As much influenced by the strength of art brut as by the vitality of neo-expressionism and free figuration, he draws his sources of inspiration from a pop art, spontaneous and engaged. His insatiable need to create and paint is felt in his way of apprehending the space of the canvas, which is often found saturated. He shows us his vision of a contemporary society always on the move.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

His quest for a primitive vision of painting is a way to seek access to a non-standardized, more authentic, more vibrant representation. Colors and figures follow one another to embody the mystical beauty of the world around us. In his painting, Julian Semiao does not seek to represent tangible reality, he explodes it, deviates it, in order to try to draw from it a new identity.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Very influenced by mythology, past and contemporary, he does not choose his themes and characters at random. Each element, each individual becomes an allegory that prompts the viewer to question the reality of our society. The miniatures and other fantastic, mystical and / or allegorical figures follow one another to take us into a committed representation. Her pop and incongruous universe in turn questions current issues such as the place of women, the migrant crisis, religion, consumption or the quest for identity.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Contemporary society becomes his greatest source of inspiration: in his compositions, he constantly questions our relationship to others and to the world, always leaving us the possibility of seeing there the reflection of our own imagination.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

Julian Semiao

Julian Semiao est un artiste peintre né à Lyon en 1996. Diplômé d'une licence d'arts plastiques à l'université de Saint-Etienne puis d'un Master en peinture contemporaine à l'université parisienne Panthéon Sorbonne, il réside actuellement à Paris où il travaille et expose régulièrement.

Animé depuis toujours par l'art, il se laisse vite happer par la couleur et la fougue artistique de Picasso, Basquiat, Combas, Keith Haring, Grayson Perry ou encore Jean Dubuffet. Autant influencé par la force de l'art brut que par la vitalité du néo expressionnisme et de la figuration libre, il puise ses sources d'inspiration dans un art pop, spontané et engagé. Son besoin insatiable de créer et de peindre se ressent dans sa manière d'appréhender l'espace de la toile, qui se retrouve souvent saturé. Il nous montre sa vision d'une société contemporaine toujours en mouvement.

Sa quête d'une vision primitive de la peinture est un moyen de chercher l'accès à une représentation non normée, plus authentique, plus vibrante. Les couleurs et les figures se succèdent pour incarner la beauté mystique du monde qui nous entoure. Dans sa peinture, Julian Semiao ne cherche pas à représenter la réalité tangible, il l'explose, la dévie, pour essayer d'en tirer une identité nouvelle.

Tres influencé par la mythologie, passée et contemporaine, il ne choisit pas ses thèmes et ses personnages au hasard. Chaque élément, chaque individu devient une allégorie qui pousse le spectateur à se questionner sur la réalité de notre société. Les miniatures et autres figures fantastiques, mystiques et/ou allégoriques se succèdent pour nous emporter dans une représentation engagée. Son univers pop et incongru questionne tour à tou des questions d'actualité comme de la place de la femme, la crise des migrants, la religion, la consommation ou la quête d'identité.

La société contemporaine devient sa plus grande source d'inspiration : il interroge constamment dans ses compositions notre rapport à autrui et au monde en nous laissant toujours la possibilité d'y voir le reflet de notre propre imagination