Yu
Zhao

Yu Zhao's painting joins the movement of contemporary literate art which seeks to deconstruct ideographism. However, “Yu Zhao, instead of breaking the ideograms, goes back to their source […] which is none other than the imprints of nature, of the flow of consciousness, formed by a brush vibrating with feeling. »(Léon Vandermeersch).

 

Born in 1976 in Beijing, Yu Zhao followed for several years preparatory courses at the Central School of Fine Arts and the Beijing Costume Institute, thus acquiring a solid foundation in drawing and colors. After university studies in French at the Institute of International Relations in Beijing, Yu Zhao came to France to devote himself to painting, which attracted him as a vocation.

 

At the University of Bordeaux III, the studies of Visual Arts sparked a real cultural revolution in Yu Zhao's vision of art. Subsequently, she obtained her doctorate at the University of Paris 8 after passionate research on the terminology of pictorial art in ancient China. Indeed, it is in France that Yu Zhao rediscovered the painting and calligraphy of her country of origin, with Madame Peng-Tuan Keh Ming, of whom she was successor at Paris-Ateliers between 2007 and 2010.

 

The discovery of contemporary dance was decisive for his creative path. From 2010, Yu Zhao gave herself entirely to her personal creation. His process consists of a synthesis between the ink game from the Chinese tradition and the performance inspired by contemporary dance. Yu Zhao chose tempera - an ancestral and mythical technique in Western art - to paint like Indian ink on thick paper (then mounted on canvas). With its gradations, textures and gestural forms - all in a premeditated play of emptiness and fullness - Yu Zhao's paintings invite you to travel in imaginary landscapes, always in the open sense. The message is pictorial and, the writing, on the verge of being reborn.

 

Yu Zhao exhibits regularly in France and China. She lives and works in Paris.

Yu
Zhao

La peinture de Yu Zhao rejoint le mouvement d’un art des lettrés contemporain qui cherche à déconstruire l’idéographisme. Or, « Yu Zhao, elle, au lieu de casser les idéogrammes, remonte à leur source […] qui n’est autre que les empreintes de la nature, du flux de conscience, formées d’un pinceau vibrant du ressenti. » (Léon Vandermeersch).

 

Née en 1976 à Pékin, Yu Zhao a suivi pendant plusieurs années des cours préparatoires à l’École Centrale des Beaux-Arts et à l’Institut du Costume de Pékin, acquérant ainsi une base solide du dessin et des couleurs. Après des études universitaires de français à l’Institut des Relations Internationales de Pékin, Yu Zhao est venue en France pour se consacrer à la peinture, qui l’attirait comme une vocation. 

 

À l’Université de Bordeaux III, les études d’Arts Plastiques ont suscité une véritable révolution culturelle dans la vision de l’art de Yu Zhao. Par la suite, elle a obtenu son doctorat à l’Université de Paris 8 après une recherche passionnée sur la terminologie de l’art pictural en Chine ancienne. En effet, c’est en France que Yu Zhao a redécouvert la peinture et la calligraphie de son pays d’origine, auprès de Madame Peng-Tuan Keh Ming dont elle a été successeur à Paris-Ateliers entre 2007 et 2010. 

 

La découverte de la danse contemporaine a été décisive pour son chemin créatif. À partir de 2010, Yu Zhao s’est donnée entièrement à sa création personnelle. Son process consiste en une synthèse entre le jeu d’encre issu de la tradition chinoise et la performance inspiré de la danse contemporaine. Yu Zhao a choisi la tempera – technique ancestrale et mythique dans l'art occidental – pour peindre à la façon de l’encre de Chine sur du papier épais (marouflé ensuite sur toile). Avec ses dégradés, ses textures et ses formes gestuelles – le tout dans un jeu prémédité de vide et plein – les tableaux de Yu Zhao invitent à voyager dans des paysages imaginaires, toujours au sens ouvert. Le message y est pictural et, l’écriture, sur le point de renaître.

 

Yu Zhao expose régulièrement en France et en Chine. Elle vit et travaille à Paris.